Steamtown National Historic Si
Scranton, United States
(1) <b>Locomotive Erecting Shop (1909)</b> - where heavy maintenance was done on locomotives. More than 70 locomotives were built here. The facility included a foundry, blacksmith shop, machine shop, and a laboratory.<br><br>(2) <b>Office and Storage Building (1909)</b> - used as a warehouse for the erecting ship and served as the main office for the Scranton yard.<br><br>(3) <b>Sand Tower (1917)</b> - used to dry and store sand. Sand is used on all locomotives to improve traction.<br><br>(4) <b>Containment Rings (1944-1950)</b> - reinforced concrete place around diesel fuel tanks. Scranton yard was the DL&W's diesel repair facility.<br><br>(5) <b>Store House (1900)</b> - where mining equipment for the DL&W's coal mines was stored.<br><br>(6) <b>Locomotive Shop (1865 to 1949)</b> - part of first locomotive shop built in 1865 is still in use today. The structure has undergone many changes. It became a diesel facility in 1949. Today it serves as a restoration shop.<br><br>(7) <b>Roundhouse (1902/1937)</b> - where steam locomotives are serviced. Roundhouse is open to museum visitors.<br><br>(8) <b>Museum Complex (1995)</b> - built on site of the roundhouse includes a theater, history museum, technology museum and visitor center. The complex includes restored historic roundhouse sections.<br><br>(9) <b>Oil House (1912)</b> - the storage facility for the yard's fammable lubricants and lighting fluids. Part of the oil house is used as the park's bookstore.<br><br>(10) <b>Dickson Manufacturing Company (1876)</b> - machine shop and pattern shop. The company produced locomotives and machinery.<br><br>(11) <b>Bridge 60 Tower (1953)</b> - the facility where yard switching was controlled.<br><br>(12) <b>Excursion Platform (1995)</b>