Pittsburg Post Dispatch Building
Pittsburg, United States
Built in 1923, this brick building was the home of the Coast Counties Gas and Electric Company which provided utilities to the City of Pittsburgh. The company closed its office in the 1950s and the building became a newspaper publishing and distribution center for the Pittsburg Post Dispatch. After merging with the Contra Costa Times, the newspaper closed operations here. In 1997, the Pittsburg Historical Society purchased the building from the Lesher Foundation and created a museum and cultural center. Our motto, by Curator Jack Aiello, “Were it not for the collection and preservation of memorabilia, the history of the area would fade away,” remains the watch word of the society as we continue to serve the community.